Picture of Foundation years and year out

Foundation years and year out

Picture of Tori
7 responses

Additional information

Hi! I'd just like to ask a little more about a few things. I'm a medical student right now. Firstly, is foundation year in the army very similar to the NHS in that you work in one of the MOD-affiliated hospitals? Is it a fixed salary and fixed hours or are you like NHS doctors where you may work overtime etc. Also in foundation years would you have any exposure to army life or does that only start afterwards when the 3 years begin? Second, once you complete GDMO would the army support you taking a year out to do locum work in the NHS (similar to a FY3) before going onto specialty training back with the army? This might be useful if you didn't get the specialty you wanted (I read the army would let you do another year as GDMO but not if you could locum for a year and reapply). Thank you!

Anonymous asked a question to Medical

Category: General

Date asked: Friday, June 26, 2020

Last reviewed: Monday, December 28, 2020

Picture of Tori C.

Tori C.

Regimental Medical Officer