Picture of hello, I would be very interested to hear your career story

hello, I would be very interested to hear your career story

Picture of Caroline
4 responses

Additional information

I'm thinking about joining the REME and would really like an insiders view on any engineering experiences.

Alex K. asked a question to Engineering

Category: Open positions

Date asked: Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Last reviewed: Thursday, June 25, 2020

Picture of Caroline M.

Caroline M.

Troop Commander

Good morning. I am an officer in the Royal Engineers rather than the REME but I can tell you about my engineering experiences. After Sandhurst I did the Royal Engineers Troop Commanders Course. This is an eight month course where you learn about all aspects of the RE and how to plan and deliver engineering effects - bridges, demolitions, water points, infrastructure and more. Since finishing training, my main engineering experience has been a project in the Falkland Islands where my Troop and I helped build new accommodation for the RAF at one of the remote radar bases for seven months. As all of the soldiers in the RE have a trade as well as being combat engineers (plumber, electrician, fabricator, bricklayer and concreter, carpenter (etc.), the soldiers were able to put their trade skills into practice on a live task. I am now a Troop Commander at 1 Royal School of Military Engineering Regiment where soldiers conduct their artisan trade training and am able to witness first hand the skill of the soldiers at the end of training and the world class level of instruction that they receive.

Friday, June 5, 2020

Alex K.

That sounds amazing! Thank you so much

Friday, June 5, 2020

Picture of Fionidi

Fionidi

Officer Engagement