Picture of Is it okay to leave army at “earliest” opportunity to go abroad?

Is it okay to leave army at “earliest” opportunity to go abroad?

Picture of Tori
7 responses

Additional information

Hello! I am currently in 2nd year of medical school and have been considering applying to join the army as a doctor (currently part of UOTC). However, in the long-term I feel as though I will end up leaving the UK to be a doctor abroad (probably in NZ/AUS due to family amongst other reasons). Of course I would have to leave to army if I were to leave the UK, but my question would be if there’s any point in joining the army as a doctor if I know I will probably be leaving after my GDMO years? My worry is that I would just be delayed as I would not be able to leave after FY2 (like I would be able to outside of the army) and have to serve 3 GDMO years before leaving to go aboard. But then again, this extra time in the army may be outweighed by the experience and skills gained by being in the army. What’s your thoughts on this? Also if I know I would want to leave the army at the earliest chance (after 3 years as a GDMO I believe, but correct if I’m wrong) would this not just weaken my application as it does not show proper commitment/motivation to the armed forces? Thanks for you help :)

Anonymous asked a question to Tori C.

Category: Internal career mobility

Date asked: Sunday, September 5, 2021

Last reviewed: Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Picture of Tori C.

Tori C.

Regimental Medical Officer