10 responses

Anonymous asked a question to Medical

Category: Application process

Date asked: Thursday, August 15, 2019

Last reviewed: Friday, June 12, 2020

Picture of Tori C.

Tori C.

Regimental Medical Officer

Hello, You can join the Army Reserve as a Student Nurse, however, until you complete your Nurse training and are registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) you will fulfil an alternative role within the medical unit of your choice. More info is available on the Army website.

Friday, August 16, 2019

Picture of Katie

Katie

Staff Officer - Projects for People

Hi There, Thanks for your question. You can absolutely join the Army Reserves whilst you are studying. I did this when I was a student nurse and had the most amazing time in a Medical Regiment: I leant new combat and medical skills; went on some amazing adventurous training expeditions; got fitter; made loads of friends, and the extra money didn’t go down too badly either! As Tori has mentioned above you aren’t able to join as a Nurse until you have completed your training and registered with the NMC but you can do other roles. I was employed as a Combat Medical Technician and loved it, it was also really useful for my nursing training as I learn how to do extra medical skills early which were not covered until post-qualification as a nurse. I hope this helps but if you want to know more about the roles available head over to the Army website. Katie

Friday, October 25, 2019

Anonymous