Picture of Hi. What's the difference between GDMO in RN, Army, RAF? What surgical specialties are offered in each? Thank you.

Hi. What's the difference between GDMO in RN, Army, RAF? What surgical specialties are offered in each? Thank you.

Picture of Tori
2 responses

Additional information

Hi. I'm currently a medical student - just finished Year 2 - and I'm looking at applying for a medical cadetship. I was wondering if you could tell me what the difference is between GDMO time in the Army, RN and RAF. I'm trying to decide which to apply to. My aim is to do something surgical (perhaps trauma surgery), so I was hoping you could tell me the different surgical specialties that the Army offers (and RN and RAF if you know). I know that you didn't join via the cadetship programme, but I was wondering if you could tell me whether, if I were successful in my application; would I then have to join the UOTC? - just thinking about fitting in other commitments, etc. Thank you very much. Kind regards, Joe

Anonymous asked a question to Tori C.

Category: Role Comparison

Date asked: Friday, June 26, 2020

Last reviewed: Monday, June 29, 2020

Picture of Tori C.

Tori C.

Regimental Medical Officer